January 2015 | WRAP UP

Well, guys, we’ve made it. Welcome to 2015, I hope you all have a great year and may you remember to put the correct date on your documents.

My goal this year is to read 75 books, and I managed to make a pretty decent dent in that this last month since in January I read a total of 11 books and most of them I really enjoyed. So over all I’d say I had a pretty successful month 🙂

athousandpieces

1.  A Thousand Pieces of You, by Claudia Gray

For my first read of the New Year, this book didn’t disappoint. Fast and fun. Some of the characters bothered me a bit, especially Theo, but a lot of that got explained so I don’t mind as much as I might have otherwise. And while some of the bigger plot ‘twists’ I suspected from early on, there were a number of smaller ones that I didn’t. Overall, I found Gray’s writing to be engaging and the world (or I guess the alternate dimensions) was/were fantastic.

4 stars.

attachments

2. Attachments, by Rainbow Rowell

I actually read this as ‘A book you started but never finished’ towards the 2015 Reading Challenge. I first tried to read Attachments when I first purchased it last year, but it had the misfortune of arriving at the same time as a lot of new releases, and as such it got cast aside.

Unfortunately, while I really wanted to love this book, it just didn’t live up to the hype. It was good, don’t get me wrong (Rainbow Rowell has yet to write anything I don’t like), but I guess I was just expecting more from it. I liked the characters, but didn’t love them, and it was pretty much like that for the rest of the book as well.

I gave this book 3 stars.

writteninred murderofcrows

3. & 4. Written in Red and Murder of Crows, by Anne Bishop

I have a full review which can be found, as always, by clicking on the picture of Written in Red, but just know I loved these books! Perhaps it was because they ended up being so much more than I was expecting, but whatever it was it was great.

5 stars.

neverfadeintheafterlight

5. & 6. Never Fade and In the Afterlight, by Alexandra Bracken

Alexandra Bracken strikes again. Never Fade was a re-read for me, and just as good the second time around. In the Afterlight was actually a new read, and in true Alexandra Bracken style did not disappoint. It was great seeing Ruby and Liam and the rest of the crew again.

Full reviews for each of these books can be found by clicking on their respective covers above.

4.5 stars each.

ultimatehitchhikersguide

7. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, by Douglas Adams

I went into this book knowing that I was going to love it, and in the end I think that’s what let me down the most. It was comedic and I understood the political and social commentary but something about the story just made it hard for me to connect to. Despite this, I still enjoyed it and will eventually pick up the next book in the series.

I gave this book 3 stars.

dorothymustdie

8. Dorothy Must Die, by Danielle Paige

Full review can be found by clicking on the cover.

3 stars.

unbecomingevolution

9. & 10. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and The Evolution of Mara Dyer, by Michelle Hodkin

I’m hoping to get up a full review for these soon so I won’t say too much, but I did enjoy them. I had my issues with Mara, but Noah more than made up for them.

The first book earned 4 stars, the second 4.5.

uglylove

11. Ugly Love, by Colleen Hoover

Ugly Love was my first Colleen Hoover book and I have to say, she’s one of the few authors that’s legitimately made me cry. Not to say I didn’t have any issues with the book, because I definitely did, but it was beautiful anyway.

4 stars.

So what books did you read in January?

Leave a Reply

