Initial Thoughts: In the Afterlight

intheafterlight

Author: Alexandra Bracken | Pages: 535 | Series: Darkest Minds Trilogy, #3 | Rating: 5 stars

So with this being the last book in a series I don’t want to give a synopsis around this little bit here to risk spoiling anyone who hasn’t read the rest of the series yet, so I decided to try something different this time and just give you my notes I wrote when I finished In the Afterlight,rather than give a full review. I tend to type up or write a little after I’m finished with each book in order to give me something to look back on when I write up the review, so I thought I’d let you take a look at one just to give you an idea of how my mind works when I’m haven’t had time to compile my thoughts. Or compose them, even. Everything below the cut is literally copy-and-pasted from my notes. I figure this could be fun, or it could be a complete disaster. We’ll see!

Oh, and if you couldn’t already tell, there will be A LOT OF SPOILERS UNDER THE CUT. Please don’t read any further if you haven’t read the last book and/or don’t want to be spoiled on some of the events in the Darkest Minds series. Also, there will be a small bit of language so if you don’t like cursing, you might also not want to read it.

Okay, moving on!

EDIT: THIS IS THE CUT, BECAUSE THE READ-MORE TAG ISN’T WORKING RIGHT NOW, at least not on my screen. So, if you don’t want spoilers, please don’t read past here.

Okay so I’ve literally only been done with that stupid book for half an hour and I can’t tell you enough how glad I am I just went ahead and stayed up to finish it (it’s currently 1:14 in the morning), because I assure you that if I had finished it tomorrow/later today I wouldn’t have read anything else all day. I’m still not entirely sure I’ll be able to read something later as it is.

Holy shit. What even??

I HAVE SO MANY FEELS RIGHT NOW.

It’s also probably a good thing that I don’t have anything scheduled for tomorrow/later today like I had originally considered because it’s probably not safe for me to be driving for a while.

I REALLY NEED AN EPILOGUE. YESTERDAY.

What happens to the gang when they’re all split up in different states??? Do Liam and Ruby stay together??? What about Vida and Chubs???? And Cate and Zu and Nico and…. Jfc.

I may be hyperventilating right now.

And Cole. I thought he annoyed me too much before he died, and then I realized I actually did still care about the little shit anyway. Damn it.

And even though Clancy was a complete and utter shit-faced asshole I appreciated how Ruby handled things at the end. I’m actually hoping that he lives a happy and mostly content life now that he isn’t plagued by all of his darkness. There were a lot of ways Ruby could have ended things, and although I’m curious how the others would have reacted when they found out, I’m glad she did what she did.

Part of me wonders if some part of Clancy didn’t want her to do it, too. I mean, yes, I know that the ‘cure’ in his mind blocked him from using his powers, so I get how maybe his mental block wouldn’t have been as strong as it had been. But it seemed like there was no resistance at all – and that just goes against everything we’d seen of him. His mother sidn’t have any powers, and she could still block Ruby at least a little bit. Part of me wonders if he hadn’t hoped she’d do what she did. If he hadn’t also wished that things had been different.

ALSO, SAM? HELLO? Ruby fixed the memory situation for her and then we barely saw her again after that? What the hell? I’d have figured they’d have at least said hi to each other after their big escape. Did she not make it? Did she? Did she find her parents? WHAT HAPPENED?

I JUST REALLY NEED AN EPILOGUE, OKAY?!?!?

Leave a Reply

