July 2014 | WRAP UP

Is it really August already? It feels like only yesterday I was posting my June Wrap-Up. Anyway, in July I managed to read eleven books, which may not seem like a lot to some but was a pretty good month for me. My internet has been down for about two weeks now, which naturally makes it hard to update an online blog, so more reviews and such should be coming soon. On a happier note, my birthday was on Wednesday, so that was cool.

On to the Wrap-Up!

AMillSuns ShadesofEarth

1. & 2. A Million Suns and Shades of Earth, by Beth Revis

In continuing on with a series I started at the end of June, the first books I read in July were the final two books in Beth Revis’s Across The Universe trilogy. Although they’ll never end up on my favorite’s shelf, the series was an enjoyable read and I would recommend them to someone looking for an interesting YA sci-fi series. I posted a review over the trilogy a couple of weeks ago, which you can check out by clicking on either picture.

A Million Suns received a 3.5-4 star rating, while Shades of Earth was more firmly a 4.

 

FANGIRL_CoverDec2012

3. Fangirl, by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl was my contemporary pick of the month, and was definitely worth the read. It was cute, and honest, and I loved all of the characters. This is another book over which I recently posted a full review over, the link to which can be found by clicking on the book cover above.

This book earned 4.5-5 stars.

 

fallingkingdomsrebelspring

4. & 5. Falling Kingdoms and Rebel Spring, by Morgan Rhodes

The next books I read this month were Falling Kingdoms and Rebel Spring by Morgan Rhodes, and I’d be lying if I said I was entirely sure how I felt about them.  The first one was enjoyable but not especially enthralling – parts of the plot were interesting, but others seemed obvious, and I felt like I was caring more for the characters I probably shouldn’t care for. Still, it was a good enough read. Rebel Spring was better – I still felt the same way about the characters, and the plot was a little more involved. Whereas the first book didn’t really make me feel as if I needed the next book right then, the second ended with enough mystery to make me curious as to where the third book will be going when it comes out in December.

Both books received a 4-star rating from me on Goodreads.

 

deadlydecisions

6. Deadly Décisions, by Kathy Reichs

I like crime shows, and Bones is one of my favorites. As I had read a few of Reichs’s other books in the past, I figured I’d give the third in the series a go, too. Unfortunately, of the books I’ve read by her so far, this one was probably my least favorite. It was still decent, but I felt like about something about this book just made it hard for me to connect with. Good, but forgettable.

This book earned 3 stars.

 

indigospellfieryheart

7. & 8. The Indigo Spell and The Fiery Heart, by Richelle Mead

What to say about these books? They were my re-reads of the month, in preparation for Silver Shadows, and were just as wonderful as they were the first time I read them. And oh, the Sydrian feels!

Sydney. Adrian. Richelle Mead. Rose. Dimitri. Hopper. Honestly, though, does anything else need to be said?

I gave both of these books 5 stars on Goodreads.

 

hollow city

9. Hollow City, by Ransom Riggs

If you saw my June Wrap-Up, you know that I re-read Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children at the beginning of last month in preparation for this book, and never got around to actually reading it. Well, here was me reading it. I enjoyed it, but didn’t love it, much as with the first book.

This book earned 4 stars on Goodreads.

 

tiwhll

10. This Is What Happy Looks Like, by Jennifer E. Smith

My second contemporary read of July was This Is What Happy Looks Like. Being my first Jennifer E. Smith book, I wasn’t sure what to expect going into it. Overall I enjoyed it, although I felt the ending left a little to be desired. I have a full review typed up that should be posted by Monday (I’ll try to remember to link it to the picture above when I get it posted), so I won’t say much more than that.

*Update: The review for This Is What Happy Looks Like can now be found by clicking on the picture above.

I would give this book 3.5 – 4 stars.

 

silvershadows

11. Silver Shadows, by Richelle Mead

This was easily one of my most anticipated releases of 2014, and was my last read of July. I received this book the day it came out and didn’t stop aside from a short lunch break until I was finished five and a half hours later. I love these books, and this one was no exception. I laughed, I cried, and I had those moments where I just had to put the book down and go, “What is life?”

I gave this book 5 stars on Goodreads.

 

So that’s it – my July Wrap-Up. How did your month go? Did any of you participate in Ariel’s BookTube-a-thon? Any books you’d like a review for that I didn’t mention above? Any books you’d like me to read and review in August? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

